AIADMK Akali Dal BJP BSP Congress NCP News

Karnataka Elections: First List of 72 Candidates Declared by BJP; Yeddyurappa will Compete From Shikaripura

  • 32

BS Yeddyurappa, the Chief Minister candidate of BJP for Karnataka will compete from Shikaripura assembly constituency. The party’s election committee released a list of 72 Candidates this Sunday, for this contest they announced Yeddyurappa as the Chief Minister Candidate.

Karnataka BJP leader B S Yeddyurappa. (File | PTI)The announcement said that Veteran state leader Jagadish Shettar will compete from Hubli Dharwad Central and Veteran state leader KS Eswarappa will compete from Shimoga Assembly seats.

The list of 72 candidates was released by Senior party leader JP Nadda after the committee meeting. Lok Sabha MP B Sriramulu has also been fielded by the BJP in the elections.

For more than 140 seats the names of probable candidates are to be announced soon said official sources in the meeting.

The date for the elections to this 225 seat assembly is fixed as May 12.

BJP is trying to give in his absolute best to take out Siddaramaiah-led Congress government from Karnataka which is the only big state where the Congress party is in power.

Some of the main candidates in the 72 candidate list are:

BS Yeddyurappa

He is the head of Karnataka BJP and also the former chief minister. He is one out of the two Members of Parliament who is allowed to take part in the assembly elections. He will compete from Shikaripura assembly constituency in Shivamogga district that is considered to be his home turf.

Jagadish Shettar

He is a Lingayat leader, a lawyer and also a former Chief Minister of Karnataka. He will be competing from Hubli-Dharwad Central constituency. He won for the fourth consecutive time from Dharwad constituency with a margin of 26,000 votes back in 2008.

B Sreeramulu

He is well known as the close associate of the Reddy mining brothers. The Ballari MP will compete for the elections from Molakalmuru (that is reserved for Scheduled Tribe) constituency in Chitradurga district, departing from his Ballari rural seat that he had been representing in the past.

R Ashoka

He is the former Deputy Chief Minister Karnataka. He will be taking part in the elections from the Padmanabhanagar Assembly constituency in Bengaluru (South). A constituency is represented by him which comprises eight Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) wards, in the Vidhan Soudha. Being a Vokkaliga, it plays out in Ashoka’s favor as the Padmanabhanagar constituency has a sizeable population of Vokkaliga voters. The MLA is an RSS worker and has held the transport and health portfolios in the Karnataka state government in the past.

  • 32
Resma Jain
We are involved in Election News Reporter and freelance journalist and writer here we provide a news and information of election 2019 lok sabha latest update, election 2019 dates, Opinion Poll, Surveys, Live News, and reviews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.